Commandments of the Church

The commandments of the Church sometimes referred to as precepts of the Church, are a set of laws that are followed throughout the Catholic Church.  These laws include the following: You shall attend Mass on Sundays and on holy days of obligation and rest from servile labor,  you shall confess your sins at least once a year,  you shall receive the sacrament of the Eucharist at least once during the Easter season,  you shall observe the days of fasting and abstinence established by the Church ,and you shall help to provide for the needs of the Church. These laws all work in accordance with the already well-known ten commandments and add another set of what you would call “rules” to be followed by the Catholic faith. These rules aren’t anything out of the ordinary and can be easily followed. All these rules essentially have to do with taking time out of your day and year to go to Church and share in God’s word. There is a common theme to all of these precepts and that is to observe certain practices established by the Church such as, observing fasting, attending mass on Sunday, and confessing your sins, these all allow for a more personal experience with your faith and the Church as a whole. Overall the main reason these laws were created was for the Church to hold authority, which by belief was delegated by the Lord.

In addition to these laws set out by the Church there also Holydays of obligation that we are, as stated, obligated to attend. In Canada these days include all Sundays, as would be obvious. Along with Sundays in Canada we also observe two more days, these days being, Solemnity of Mary, mother of God, and Christmas. Although these days don’t always fall on a Sunday it is still stated in precepts of the Church that they are followed and observed by all Catholics throughout Canada and the world.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email