Commandments Of The Church

The ten commandments are the religious laws that tell us what is acceptable and rules of the church and to being a catholic.they are a sacred tradition that goes back to  In the Bible story of Moses and the Ten Commandments, the moral laws of God are solidified into ten great mandates. Shortly after God delivered the people of Israel out of Egypt by crossing the Red Sea, they traveled through the desert to Sinai where they camped in front of Mount Sinai. Also called Mount Horeb, Mount Sinai is a very significant place. It is here that God met and spoke with Moses, telling him why he had rescued Israel from Egypt. God had chosen the people of Israel to be his treasured possession. Israel would be made into a holy nation of priests for God. 


One day God called Moses to the top of the mountain. He gave Moses the first part of his new system of laws for the people–the Ten Commandments. These commandments summarized the absolutes of spiritual and moral living that God intended for his people. God continued to give direction to his people through Moses, theses ten commandments are sacred 

  1. You shall have no other gods before Me.
  2. You shall make no idols.
  3. You shall not take the name of the Lord your God in vain.
  4. Keep the Sabbath day holy.
  5. Honor your father and your mother.
  6. You shall not murder.
  7. You shall not commit adultery.
  8. You shall not steal.
  9. You shall not bear false witness against your neighbor.
  10. You shall not covet.

 but did you know that there are more than just these 10 their used to be more there are five more the Catechism of the Catholic Church, in its Compendium, enumerates the following five:

  1. You shall attend Mass on Sundays and on holy days of obligation and rest from servile labor
  2. You shall confess your sins at least once a year.
  3. You shall receive the sacrament of the Eucharist at least once during the Easter season.
  4. You shall observe the days of fasting and abstinence established by the Church
  5. You shall help to provide for the needs of the Church.

The holy day obligations are listed in this website


The only two obligations that are on days other then Sunday are January 1, the solemnity of Mary, Mother of God; and December 25, the solemnity of the Nativity of Our Lord Jesus Christ.


Print Friendly, PDF & Email