Commandments of the Church

There are the 10 Commandments as well as the Commandments of the Church. These Commandments include the following from Catechism of the Catholic Church:

  1.  You shall attend Mass on Sunday and on Holy Days of Obligation and rest from servile labor.
  2.  You shall confess your sins at least once a year.
  3.  You shall receive the sacrament of the Eucharist at least once during the Easter season.
  4.  You shall observe the days of fasting and abstinence established by the Church.
  5.  You shall help provide for the needs of the Church.

Another name for Commandments of the Church is Precepts of the Church, which are certain laws considered binding on the faithful. The history of these commandments are as early as the time of Constantine 1, this was put upon the obligation to hear mass on Sundays and Holy Days.

What the 5 Commandments of the Church that I wrote up at the top means are the first one means to go to Mass and on Holy Days which means you are committed to going to Masses on those days. Number 2 means that you should tell you sins that you have made to the Preist. Number 3 means you shall receive the sacrament At least once during or in the Easter season. Number 4 means you shall become aware of the days of fasting and abstinence established by the Church. Abstinence means restraining yourself from something. Number 5 means that you should help the needs of the Church.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email